If You Really Knew Me, You’d Know…

[This post was inspired by Hillary Weiss, who was provoked by Cassie Oswald, who was sparked by Alexandra Franzen. Credit where credit’s due, ya’ll.]

Once upon a time, I was a poet.

More than half of my iTunes playlists consist of artists I’d discovered via TV shows and commercials.

I once had the privilege of being able to see His Holiness the (14th) Dalai Lama speak. I attended with one of my most cherished friends and will never forget the silent bliss that filled the car on our way home from the event that day.

I am a perfectionist that falls in love with the imperfections of others.

I might be one of the clumsiest, most accident-prone humans alive. I was nicknamed “Crash” for good reason and have more scars than I can count.

New Girl is, hands down, my favorite TV show of all time. It makes me laugh so hard I squeak. It is closely followed by its Top 5 neighbors Arrested Development, Bones, Cheers and Ugly Betty.

I became an aunt the day I was born. I have ten nieces and nephews – five of which are older than me, two even babysat me when I was just a little thing.

My favorite (and lucky) number is 54. It was my basketball number for years. I was kind of a baller.

I don’t wear my heart on my sleeve; I wear it underneath my right pant leg, strapped to my boot. Ani DiFranco fans, WHAT?!

An Emily Dickenson quote, “Unable are the loved to die, for love is immortality,” is tattooed upon my very skin in honor of my big brother, Mike. May he continue to rest peacefully. (I miss you!)

I’ve had a lifelong love affair with Frank Sinatra. I first discovered Ole Blue Eyes when I was a mere three years old when I sashayed and high-kicked to New York, New York in my very first dance recital.

I got hit by a train. True story.

Books are my favorite. My most recent favorite find (thanks, sister!) is The Little Princes by Connor Grennan.

I have quite the collection of imaginary boyfriends. Most of them are celebrities (like this one) or college basketball coaches (see: Tom Izzo) but I’ll occasionally include a randomly encountered stranger.

NERD should be my middle name. My nerdities (aka nerd specialties) include: energy efficiency, words, Microsoft Excel, and color theory.

I fucking love carrots. And peanut butter. But not together. Or at the same time.

When I’m having a bad day, I close my eyes and listen to Kerry Muzzey’s “Light at the End of the Tunnel”. It somehow manages to calm and stir the very core of my being at the same exact time.

I was once quite the artist. I’ve sold a couple commissioned anatomy drawings and a few portraits. Something happened and the draw-er juice has seemingly expired.

Image

I have a bucket list a mile long. Things I’ll be crossing off in 2013 include (but are certainly not limited to): seeing the Harlem Globetrotters live, traveling across the globe to Kenya, and becoming conversationally fluent in a second language.

The author, Og Mandino, clearly must have been channeling some serious Megz mojo when he wrote, “I will strain my potential until it cries for mercy.” This is my battle cry. Every. Single. Day. Except for days that include naps on the couch, of course.

Leave a Reply

