2012 – A Year in the Life of Megz

Photo Credit NewYorkFamily.com

Photo Credit NewYorkFamily.com

2012 was a monumental year in the Life of Megz.

The general themes I noticed throughout the year were:

  • Pleasant Discomfort
  • Disruption
  • Possibilities
  • Enormous
  • New New New

I spent the year getting acclimated to a new job in a new city and adjusting to a whole new mode of life I’d created for myself.
Lessons learned:

  • Friends transcend freeways.
  • Taking big ass scary leaps into unknown territory is risky – but can be ultimately, undeniably rewarding.
  • Even a measly five minutes of self-indulgence can go a long way in staying sane as a workaholic.

I tried 52 wines that’d never blessed (or cursed, in the case of some) my palate before.
Lessons learned:

  • You don’t always get what you pay for.
  • South African wines please my taste buds more frequently than other regions.
  • St. Julian’s Winery in Paw Paw, MI is still my go-to favorite and the price is just right.
Simply Red by St Julian Winery - my new go-to favorite!

Simply Red by St Julian

I also vowed to cure my kitchen illiteracy and forced myself to try 52 new recipes this year.
Lessons learned:

  • YouTube deserves a mother’s day card for teaching me that I was using my garlic press backward for years.
  • Cooking is messy business – I still have a lot to learn about cleaning while I cook.
  • I now know the definitions of dollop, dice, sear, saute, mince, mull, and fricassee.
Photo Credit Lee Kindness

Photo Credit Lee Kindness

I took two professional development courses just to splash up some new skills.
Lessons learned:

  • Copywriting is more than an art, more than a science… simply put, it is a craft.
  • The art of selling is all about figuring out what makes your audience wake up sweaty in the middle of the night. And exploiting it elegantly but with fervor.
  • VERBS, YO.

2012 was the year of the career for me. I’d been hustling my tail off for a few years to find my groove in all things career related and it paid off. The new job is incredible but it was a hugely consuming part of the pie this year. In 2013, I’m shifting gears. Aiming for growth and experiences in the non-work part of my life, I’ve got big plans for grand adventures, giving back, and bringing balance back to my general badassery.

  1. Initiate a new Kiva loan every month.
  2. Make 5 new friends (that I do not work with) in Grand Rapids.
  3. Help organize at least 3 fundraising events for Good Samaritan Children’s Home.
  4. Read 25 new books – first up: Dare Greatly by Brene Brown.
  5. Practice yoga at LEAST once a week to keep my muscles healthy and all limber-like.
  6. Take two more professional development courses.
  7. Find a way to use my talent/passion to give back in a big way.
  8. Treat myself with one adventure each month (Jan: Harlem Globetrotters, Feb: Neon Trees concert, etc).
  9. Become conversationally fluent in Swahili… in preparation for #10.
  10. And last but DEFINITELY not least…travel to Kenya in December with my family.
Good Samaritan Children's Home - Mathare, Nairobi, Kenya [photo credit www.seethroughoureyes.org]

Good Samaritan Children’s Home – Mathare, Nairobi, Kenya [photo credit http://www.seethroughoureyes.org]

I’m really excited to see what the new year has in store and can’t wait to make this the. best. year. yet.

Cheers to all and to all a happiest, most fruitful new year! Happy 2013!

Leave a Reply

